What's been seen in and around the park

 

Please send reports of your sightings (Birds, butterfies, dragonflies, mammals etc) to:

mail@shipleybirdwatchers.co.uk


Saturday 8 December: 6 Whooper Swans (Shipley Lake). (DH)

Friday 30 November: 3 Water Rail, Jack Snipe, 41 Common Snipe. (DOS)

Thursday 29 November: 2 Little Grebe, 3 Cormorant, 110 Coot, 29 Mute Swan, 130 Wigeon, 10 Gadwall, 2 Shoveller, 30 Redwing, 2 Bullfinch (Shipley Lake). (DOS)

Sunday 25 November: GC Grebe, Grey heron, Mute swan, Canada goose, Greylag goose, Mandarin (Mapp Res), Wigeon, Gadwall, Mallard, Shoveler, Pochard, Tufted duck, Kestrel, Moorhen, Coot, B-h Gull, Woodpigeon, Green woodpecker, Robin, Blackbird, Fieldfare, Redwing, Mistle thrush, Long tailed tit, Blue tit, Magpie, Jackdaw, Crow, Goldfinch, 30+ Redpoll (Mapp Res Car Park), Bullfinch. (MB)

Sunday 11 November: Water Rail, 12 Snipe, 2 Jack Snipe. (DOS)

Saturday 10 November: 8 Little Grebe, 33 Mute Swan, 133 Wigeon, 28 Gadwall, 337 Coot, 74 Black-headed Gull (Shipley Lake). (DOS)

Monday 5 November: 16 Pochard, 2 Red-crested Pochard (Straw's Bridge). (DOS)

Saturday 3 November: 4 Little Grebe, 34 Mute Swan, 166 Wigeon (Shipley Lake). (DOS)

Sunday 28 October: 9 Whooper Swan, 32 Mute Swan, 108 Wigeon, 4 Shoveler, 4 Pochard, 3 Goldeneye (Shipley Lake). (DOS)

Monday 22 October: 14 Greylag Geese. 38 Canada Geese, 2 Egyptian Geese, 4 Gadwall, 10 Pochard, 1 Common Buzzard (Straw's Bridge). (GS)

Tuesday 19 June: Mandarin (Mapperley Res), Common Tern (pr+1c) (Straws Bridge). (MB) 

Monday 28 May: Kingfisher (Shipley View Lagoon). (DOS)

Saturday 19 May: 2 Common Tern, Cuckoo. (DOS)

Thursday 17 May: Raven. (DOS)

Wednesday 16 May: 45 Swift. (DOS)

Sunday 13 May: 2 Oystercatcher. (DOS)

Saturday 12 May: 2 Hobby, Cuckoo, 2 Lesser Whitethroat. (DOS)

Sunday 13 May: 2 Mandarin (pond off Bell Lane), Common Tern (Mapperley Reservoir raft). (MB) 

Sunday 6 May: Water Rail, Cetti's Warbler, Grasshopper Warbler, Reed Warbler, Garden Warbler. (MB)

Thursday 3 May: 2 Barn Owl, Lesser Whitethroat, 3 Raven. (DOS)  

Wednesday 18 April: 5 GC Grebe, Little Grebe, 3 Shoveler, 4 Buzzard, Kestrel, Lapwing, GS Woodpecker, 3 Skylark, 2 Grey Wagtail, Cetti's Warbler, 3 Blackcap, 2 Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, 5 Jay, Nuthatch, Coal Tit. Also good numbers of Peacock butterflies, Brimstone and 2 Small Tortoiseshell. (GS)

Monday 16 April: Whitethroat. (DOS)

Sunday 15 April: 2 Little Gull. (DOS)

Sunday 8 April: Curlew, Tawny Owl. (DOS)

Friday 6 April: Grey Wagtail, Willow Warbler. (DOS)

Thursday 5 April: 5 Sand Martin. (DOS)

Monday 2 April: Cetti's Warbler, 7 Chiffchaff. (DOS)

Sunday 1 April: 5 Buzzard, 53 Snipe, 8 Jack Snipe, 2 Kingfisher. (DOS)

Saturday 31 March: 42 Tufted Duck, 48 Coot, Cetti's Warbler, 4 Chiffchaff, (Shipley Lake). Curlew, 7 Golden Plover. (DOS)

Wednesday 21 March: Raven. (DOS)

Tuesday 20 March: Jack Snipe. (DOS)

Wednesday 14 March: 2 Hawfinch. (DOS)

Sunday 11 March: Cetti's Warbler, 2 Water Rail, 4 Lesser Redpoll, 4 Goosander (Pewit Carr). (MB). Chiffchaff (RW)

8 Great Crested Grebe, 6 Mute Swan,2 Shoveler, 25 Gadwall, 8 Wigeon, 57 Tufted Duck, 22 Pochard, 14 Goosander, 105 Coot (Shipley Lake). (DOS) 

Thursday 8 March: 6 Goosander, Gadwall, Pochard, Treecreeper (Shipley Lake), 10 Goosander, 1 Cormorant (Mapperley Res), Sparrowhawk (Smalley Dam). (GS)

Monday 5 March: Barn Owl, 2Tawny Owls. (DOS)

Sunday 4 March: 6 Whooper Swan (Straw's Bridge). (DOS)

Saturday 3 March: 4 Little Grebe, 113 Coot, 67 Wigeon, 53 Gadwall, 4 Shoveler, 54 Tufted Duck, 26 Pochard (Shipley Lake). Also 200 Redwing, 5 Hawfinch. (DOS)

Wednesday 21 February: 11 Hawfinch. (DOS)

Sunday 18 February: 12 Mute Swan, 26 Canada Goose, 22 Gadwall, 3 Wigeon, 41 Tufted Duck, 27 Pochard, 15 Goosander, 7 Coot, (Shipley Lake). (DOS )

 Friday 2 February: 6 Hawfinch. (K&EW)

Thursday 1 February: 7 Hawfinch. (DOS )

Sunday 29 January: GC Grebe, Cormorant, Grey Heron, Mute Swan, Greylag Goose, Canada Goose, Wigeon, Gadwall, Teal, Mallard, Shoveler, Pochard, Tufted Duck, 2m/2f Goosander (Mapp Res), Kestrel, Moorhen, Coot, B-h Gull, Woodpigeon, Green Woodpecker, GS Woodpecker, Skylark, Grey Wagtail, Robin, Blackbird, Song Thrush, Mistle Thrush, Long-tailed Tit, Willow Tit (Mapp Res), Blue Tit, Great Tit, Magpie, Crow, Starling, Chaffinch, 5+ Hawfinch (near Water Tower, Shipley Hill). (MB)

Pink footed geese over the High Lane this morning. (RW)

Thursday 25 January: 1 Hawfinch, 1 Tawny Owl. (DOS)

Tuesday 23 January: 1 Hawfinch. (DOS)

Sunday 21 January: 2 Goosander, 2 Shoveler, 21 Pochard, 234 Coot, 24 Gadwall, 66 Wigeon, 84 Tufted Duck. (DOS)

Thursday 18 January: 3 Hawfinch, 4 Nuthatch. (DOS)

Wednesday 17 January: 1 Hawfinch. (DOS)

Tuesday 16 January: 3 Buzzard, 26 Linnet. (DOS)

Tuesday 9 January: 15 Goosander (10 males, 5 females) on Manners Flood. (GS) 

Sunday 7 January: GC Grebe, Greylag Goose (10+ Bell Lane), Canada Goose, Mallard, Tufted Duck, Goosander (female, Mapperley Res), B-h Gull, Woodpigeon, Collared Dove, GS Woodpecker, Wren, Robin, Blackbird, Redwing (Shipley Hill), Goldcrest, Long-tailed Tit, Coal Tit, Blue Tit, Great Tit, Nuthatch, Treecreeper, Magpie, Jackdaw, Crow, Starling, Chaffinch, Goldfinch, Siskin. (MB)